TheBurgundyLadybug

Chocolate Cookies

Image

Yes, I know I misspelled “Recipe” on the photo text. Didn’t notice it until AFTER I uploaded & am too lazy to change it. 😉

I don’t often bake cookies, and definitely not ones made from scratch!  When Tanya Burr posted a chocolate cookie recipe on her blog that had Cadbury Dairy Milk bars mixed in, I knew I had to make them!  These cookies are super rich and I can’t eat more than one at a time, but they are delicious and an indulgent treat.

The recipe on Tanya’s blog was written in gram/weight measurements, so I had to do some conversions to figure out the US cups.  I also didn’t have self-rising flour like her recipe called for so I had to add in baking powder and salt.  We don’t have Milky bars or Daim bars here in the US, so I found appropriate replacements.  I can usually get my hands on Dairy Milk bars in the grocery store, often in the candy aisle or the international aisle.  Below is an Americanized recipe:

Ingredients:

1 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1 egg

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup cocoa powder

milk

Ghiradelli White Chocolate bar

Cadbury Dairy Milk bar

Cadbury Royal Dark bar

3 Heath bars

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees (F).
  2. Dice up the chocolate bars into smaller pieces.  Break up the Heath bars using a rolling pin.  (I did this while they were still in the wrapper.)  Set aside.
  3. Let the butter warm up to room temperature.  Using an electric mixer, blend butter and sugar.
  4. Crack in the egg.  Mix well.
  5. Add in all dry ingredients & mix.  Tanya says to add a dash of milk, but I had to add almost a cup of milk to make the batter the consistency I wanted.
  6. Add in all the chocolate bars, including Heath.  Stir to combine.
  7. Line 2 large baking trays with foil or parchment paper.
  8. Using an ice cream scoop, scoop out the cookie batter on to the tray.  I put 5 cookies per tray.
  9. Bake for 11 minutes.  Do not cook any longer than this!  They will not look done when you take them out.
  10. Remove from oven. Lift the foil with the cookies off tray and allow to cool for 30 minutes.  The cookies will be very soft so if you don’t let them cool sufficiently, they will be gooey and fall apart.

Image

13 comments on “Chocolate Cookies

  1. Ashley Phillips
    November 14, 2013

    I was wondering, I have self raising flour, would you still use 2 1/4 cups of it? Thanks!

    • Luciloo
      November 14, 2013

      Yes, since the 2 1/4 cups is the converted amount from Tanya’s recipe. 🙂

  2. Could you not add the heath bars if you do not like them?

    • Luci
      May 10, 2015

      Yep, feel free to leave those out.

  3. Lauren
    May 12, 2015

    How many cookies did you get?

    • Lauren
      May 12, 2015

      also.. did you squish the cookies down a bit? or leave them as balls

      • Luci
        May 12, 2015

        I believe I left them as I scooped them out & they flattened out as they cooked.

    • Luci
      May 12, 2015

      I had 8 rather large cookies.

  4. Lauren
    May 12, 2015

    Thanks.. and is that regular sugar? or the super fine sugar?? sorry for all of the questions lol i want to try and make these but want them to be great the first time that i do!! 🙂

    • Luci
      May 12, 2015

      Yes, regular sugar.

  5. Sydney
    June 27, 2015

    In Tanya’s recipe there is more sugar than butter… I tried and a cup and a half of sugar instead of just one cup made these cookies perfect

  6. Serena
    August 6, 2015

    I just made these but i made a mistake. I was making a double batch and I added 2 cups of milk which was too much. I then tried to correct that by adding more flour which gave it a cavelike consistency. In the end they tasted good but I also think I could’ve taken them out of the oven at 9 minutes with my oven which would’ve helped with the cakey texture.

  7. Serena
    August 6, 2015

    mine also turned out a much lighter color

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2013 by in Makeup and tagged .